NSUARB-SB-12-03 / M04878

# NOVA SCOTIA UTILITY AND REVIEW BOARD

### IN THE MATTER OF THE EDUCATION ACT

- and -

**IN THE MATTER OF AN APPLICATION** by the **SOUTH SHORE REGIONAL SCHOOL BOARD** to reduce the number of school board members from 10 to 6 and to amend the boundaries of the electoral districts

BEFORE:

Roland A. Deveau, Q.C., Acting Vice-Chair

## <u>ORDER</u>

An application having been made by the South Shore Regional School

Board pursuant to s. 43 of the Education Act and the Board having issued its decision

on July 16, 2012;

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED that the application is approved as follows:

- 1. The number of electoral districts for the South Shore Regional School Board is set at six, each electing one member;
- 2. The number of members for the South Shore Regional School Board is set at six;
- 3. The proposed boundaries of the electoral districts are approved; and
- 4. The descriptions of all electoral districts are set out in the Schedule "A", attached to and forming part of this Order;

AND IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that all provisions of the Education Act

and the Municipal Elections Act and any other acts of the Province of Nova Scotia

applying to the preparation for and holding of the regular election of school board members in the year 2012 will be complied with as if the above-noted changes had been made on the first day of March 2012, but for all other purposes such changes shall take effect on the first day of the first meeting of the School Board after the election of school board members for the year 2012.

**DATED** at Halifax, Nova Scotia, this 16<sup>th</sup> day of July, 2012.

lerk of the Boar

## SCHEDULE "A"

## SOUTH SHORE REGIONAL SCHOOL BOARD

- <u>District 1</u>: All the municipal polling districts in the Region of Queens and the Maitland Bridge, Annapolis County poll
- <u>District 2</u>: Municipal polling districts 5, 6, 7 and 9 for the Municipality of the District of Lunenburg
- District 3: Town of Bridgewater
- <u>District 4</u>: Municipal polling districts 2, 8, 10, 11 and 12 for the Municipality of the District of Lunenburg
- <u>District 5</u>: Municipal polling districts 1, 3 and 4 for the Municipality of the District of Lunenburg, the Town of Lunenburg and the Town of Mahone Bay
- <u>District 6</u>: All the municipal polling districts in the Municipality of the District of Chester