Nine new Pre Primary Program sites in the SSRSB

The South Shore Regional School Board is proud to announce the following schools will be introducing the provincial Pre Primary Program in September 2018. This marks the second phase of roll outs across the province.

  • Aspotogan Consolidated Elementary School
  • Bayview Community School
  • Dr. John C. Wickwire Academy
  • Hebbville Academy
  • New Ross Consolidated School
  • Newcombville Elementary School
  • North Queens Community School
  • Pentz Elementary School
  • Petite Riviere Elementary School

The Pre Primary Program is a play-based program for four-year-old children taught by trained Early Childhood Educators (ECEs).  ECEs will use the N.S. Early Learning Curriculum Framework and Educators Guide to deliver the program.  This is a developmentally appropriate and approved curriculum model used in an early learning environment.

Children will  be engaging in exciting and stimulating learning environments that are child-centered and led by their interests. Educators will create inviting indoor and outdoor environments and materials that encourage curiosity, discovery and wonder.  The Program’s philosophy is committed to inclusive practices that promote family, diversity and community involvement. The learning environments in Pre Primary practice caring and responsive approaches for empowering children in developing their abilities and skills through developmentally appropriate activities and expectations.

Eligible children for this program must be living in the school’s catchment area and be four years old by Dec. 31, 2018. This is a voluntary program. Please go to the school in your catchment area to register your child using the school registration form. You will need proof of address as well as your child’s birth certificate.

Pre Primary is the ABC’s of development it’s…




Each day is spent fostering social, emotional, intellectual and physical skills for life.